CHARTER SCHOOL

أسئلة مكررة

1. أين تقع المدرسة؟

تقع المدرسة في 99 Slingerland St. Albany، NY 12202. يقع المبنى بالقرب من Delaware Ave. & Morton Ave. قبالة Oneiada Terrace.

انتقل إلى صفحة الاتصال

2. لماذا وكيف بدأت المدرسة؟

أرادت مجموعة من أعضاء المجتمع خلق فرصة تعليمية عالية الجودة للطلاب ذوي الدخل المنخفض الذين حوصروا في مدارس ألباني العامة منخفضة الأداء. يدفع واحد من كل خمسة من سكان مدينة ألباني تقريبًا مقابل إرسال أطفالهم إلى مدارس غير عامة بدلاً من مدارس ألباني العامة - ولكن بالنسبة للأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض ، غالبًا ما لا يكون هذا خيارًا. لذلك ، تم تصور فكرة إنشاء مدرسة ثانوية عامة جديدة - مدرسة Green Tech High Charter School. بمساعدة خبراء المدارس المستقلة وقدر كبير من الأبحاث التربوية ، تمت كتابة تطبيق مكون من 500 صفحة يوضح بالتفصيل كل جانب من جوانب المدرسة وتقديمه إلى مجلس أمناء جامعة ولاية نيويورك. في 31 يوليو 2006 ، أصبح حلم Green Tech High حقيقة عندما تمت الموافقة على الطلب لفتح مدرسة Green Tech High Charter School. استغرقت المدرسة عامًا إضافيًا من وقت التخطيط وافتتحت في أغسطس 2008.

انتقل إلى حول الصفحة

3. من يمكنه الالتحاق بمدرسة Green Tech High Charter School؟

على غرار مدارس Magnet ، فإن المدارس المستقلة هي مدارس عامة يختارها الآباء لأطفالهم. بدلاً من أن تملي المنطقة التعليمية الطلاب الذين يجب عليهم الالتحاق بالمدرسة بحكم المكان الذي يعيشون فيه ، يمكن للوالدين تحديد ما إذا كانت مدرسة Green Tech High Charter School تناسب احتياجات أطفالهم ، ومن ثم تسجيل أطفالهم هنا.

يخدم Green Tech الصفوف السادس والسابع و9-12. تعطى الأفضلية للطلاب المقيمين في ألباني. إذا كان هناك المزيد من الطلبات للحضور أكثر من الأماكن المتاحة ، فسيتم وضع هؤلاء الطلاب في قائمة الانتظار. بمجرد قبول الطالب في Green Tech ، يمكنه الالتحاق بالمدرسة في السنوات اللاحقة دون الحاجة إلى إعادة التقديم.

انتقل إلى صفحة التسجيل

4. ما هي المدرسة المستقلة؟

المدارس المستقلة هي مدارس عامة خالية من معظم اللوائح البيروقراطية التقليدية ، مما يسمح لها بالابتكار في مجالات مثل البرامج التعليمية (المناهج الدراسية ، ومعايير التعلم ، والتقييمات الموحدة ، والأساليب التعليمية) ، والأيام والسنوات الدراسية الأطول ، والإدارة المالية ، وخدمات التعليم الخاص ، جمع التبرعات واستراتيجيات التسويق وإدارة المدرسة. تأتي هذه الحرية مع مستوى أعلى من المساءلة الأكاديمية - يجب على المدرسة ضمان تعلم الطلاب. مثل المدارس العامة الحالية ، يُطلب من المدارس المستقلة إجراء تقييمات الولاية والإبلاغ عن النتائج علنًا ، وعقد اجتماعات مجلس الإدارة علنًا ، والاستجابة لطلبات المعلومات العامة الأخرى. المدارس المستقلة لا تتقاضى رسومًا دراسية أو تدير عمليات القبول أو امتحانات القبول.

5. ما هي الفلسفة التعليمية لمدرسة Green Tech High Charter School؟

تؤمن مدرسة Green Tech High Charter School بأن جميع الطلاب ، بغض النظر عن الدخل أو العرق أو العرق ، يمكنهم التعلم والنجاح عند توفير فرصة تعليمية أساسية سليمة. ينصب تركيز وهيكل مدرسة Green Tech High Charter School على تحصيل الطلاب والشخصية السليمة. نظرًا لأن المدرسة تخدم في المقام الأول الطلاب المعرضين للخطر من خلفيات منخفضة الدخل ، فإنها تستخدم المناهج والمواد التعليمية للطلاب والتقييمات التي كانت فعالة عند استخدامها في مدارس أخرى تخدم مجموعات مماثلة من السكان المعرضين للخطر. يتمتع الطلاب بفرصة المشاركة في التنسيب المتقدم (AP) والكلية في فصول المدرسة الثانوية وكسب الائتمان الجامعي. من المتوقع أن يتخرج طلاب Green Tech في الوقت المحدد مع دبلوم Regents.

6. كيف أسجل ابني في مدرسة Green Tech High Charter School؟

يجب على الآباء المهتمين بإرسال أطفالهم إلى Green Tech الاتصال بالمدرسة على 3400-694 (518) أو الحضور شخصيًا. التطبيقات متاحة اعتبارًا من يناير من كل عام.

انتقل إلى صفحة التسجيل

7. كم عدد الطلاب في Green Tech؟

توفر Green Tech بيئة مدرسية صغيرة. نستضيف حوالي 370 طالبًا في الصف التاسع إلى الثاني عشر.

8. هل يجب علي ارتداء زي موحد؟

نعم. يتوقع من الطلاب في مدرسة Green Tech High Charter School ارتداء الزي الرسمي على أساس يومي. يتم توفير الزي الرسمي من قبل Lodges الواقعة في 75 N Pearl St، Albany، NY 12207. لا يمكن للعائلات شراء الزي الرسمي إلا بعد تلقي خطاب قبول رسمي.

انتقل إلى صفحة قواعد اللباس

9. كيف أصل إلى المدرسة؟

يستقل معظم الطلاب في مدرسة Green Tech High Charter School حافلة CDTA من وإلى المدرسة كل يوم. يتم توفير تذاكر الحافلات للطلاب القادمين من المناطق المحيطة التي لا توفر وسائل النقل. توفر مدرسة Albany City School District تصاريح حافلات لمدة 3 أشهر للطلاب الذين يعيشون على بعد 1.5 ميل على الأقل من المدرسة. عادةً ما تكون طروادة ، ولانسنجبرج ، ورافينا ، والآن طلاب حافلة شينيكتادي.

تحميل وثيقة النقل

10. هل هناك أي رياضة متاحة؟

تقدم GTH حاليًا كرة القدم وكرة السلة والمسار والبيسبول.

انتقل إلى صفحة ألعاب القوى

11. هل يمكنني الحصول على مساعدة إضافية في دراستي الأكاديمية؟

نعم. لدى GTH العديد من البرامج الوقائية لضمان قدرة طلابنا على تحقيق التميز الأكاديمي. مثال على ذلك هو أن جميع الصغار (طلاب الصف الحادي عشر) لديهم إعداد SAT مدمج في جدول مدرستهم. يتوفر المعلمون أيضًا بعد ساعات العمل لمساعدة أي طالب محتاج.

12. ما هي مدة العام الدراسي؟

طلاب السنة الأولى في مدرسة Green Tech High Charter يذهبون إلى المدرسة في الأسبوع الأول من شهر أغسطس للتوجيه. يبدأ جميع الطلاب الدورات الدراسية بدوام كامل في منتصف أغسطس وينتهون العام في نهاية يونيو.

13. ما هي مدة اليوم الدراسي؟

مدرسة Green Tech High Charter School لديها يوم ممتد للتعليم يبدأ على الفور في الساعة 8:15 صباحًا وينتهي في الساعة 4:00 مساءً ؛ الفصل من الاثنين إلى الخميس والجمعة الساعة 2:00 بعد الظهر. يفتح مبنى المدرسة قبل بدء التدريس ، الساعة 7:30 صباحًا ، للطلاب الذين يتناولون وجبة الإفطار في المدرسة. يجب على جميع الطلاب تقديم تقرير إلى الاستشاري المخصص لهم بحلول الساعة 8:20 صباحًا والجلوس والمشاركة في نشاط الإحماء لتجنب التأخر في التأخير. مبنى المدرسة مفتوح لمدة ساعة واحدة على الأقل بعد المدرسة لتسهيل المشاركة في الأنشطة اللاصفية.

14. كيف يمكنني تقديم طلب احباط؟

يرجى الاطلاع على سياسة طلب احباط لدينا هنا   إذا كانت لديك أسئلة إضافية ، فيرجى إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى frontdesk@greentechhigh.org

15. كيف أقدم شكوى؟

إذا كانت لديك مخاوف تود التعبير عنها ، يرجى الاطلاع على سياسة التظلم هنا   يرجى إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى frontdesk@greentechhigh.org للتحدث مع أحد عمدائنا أو الدكتور ميلر

16. أنا أعيش حاليًا في عنوان مؤقت ، هل لا يزال بإمكاني التسجيل؟

إذا كان لديك حاليًا سكن غير مؤكد ، فيرجى الاتصال بالسيد جونز على mjones@greentechhigh.org

لمزيد من المعلومات حول Mckinney Vento

GREEN TECH HIGH

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

1. Where is the school located?

The school is located 99 Slingerland St. Albany, NY 12202. The building is near Delaware Ave. & Morton Ave. off of Oneiada Terrace.

Go To Contact Page

 

 

2. Why and how was the school started?

A group of community members wanted to create a high-quality educational opportunity for low-income students that were trapped in Albany’s low-performing public schools. Approximately one in five Albany city residents pay to send their children to non-public schools instead of Albany public schools – but for low-income families, this often isn’t an option. So, the idea for a new public high school – the Green Tech High Charter School — was conceived. With the assistance of charter school experts and a great deal of education research, a nearly 500 page application detailing every aspect of the school was written and submitted to the State University of New York Board of Trustees. On July 31, 2006, the dream of Green Tech High became a reality when the application was approved to open the Green Tech High Charter School. The school took an extra year of planning time and opened in August 2008.

 

Go To About Page

 

3. Who can attend the Green Tech High Charter School?

Similar to magnet schools, charter schools are public schools chosen by parents for their children. Rather than having the school district dictate which school students must attend by virtue simply of where they live, parents can decide if the Green Tech High Charter School best suits the needs of their children, and then enroll their children here.

 

Green Tech serves grades 9-12. Preference is given to students residing in Albany. If there are more applications to attend than available spots, those students will be placed on a waiting list. Once a student is admitted to Green Tech, he can attend the school in subsequent years without having to reapply.

 

Go To Enrollment Page

 

4. What is a charter school?

Charter schools are public schools that are free from most traditional bureaucratic regulations, allowing them to innovate in areas such as educational programs (curriculum, learning standards, standardized assessments, instructional methods), longer school days and years, financial management, special education services, fundraising, marketing strategies, and school governance. This freedom comes with a higher level of academic accountability — the school must ensure that students learn. Like existing public schools, charter schools are required to administer state assessments and report the results publicly, hold board meetings publicly, and respond to other public information requests. Charter schools do not charge tuition or administer admissions or entrance exams.

 

5. What is the Green Tech High Charter School’s educational philosophy?

Green Tech High Charter School believes that all students, regardless of income, race, or ethnicity, can learn and be successful when provided a sound, basic educational opportunity. The focus and structure of Green Tech High Charter School is on student achievement and sound character. Since the school primarily serves at-risk students from low-income backgrounds, it uses curriculum, student learning materials, and assessments that have been effective when used at other schools serving similar at-risk populations. Students have the opportunity to participate in Advanced Placement (AP) and College in the High School classes and earn college credit. Green Tech students are expected to graduate on time with a Regents Diploma.

 

6. How do I enroll my son in the Green Tech High Charter School?

Parents interested in sending their children to Green Tech should call the school at (518) 694-3400 or appear in person. Applications are available as of January of every year. 

Go To Enrollment Page

 

7. How many students attend Green Tech?

Green Tech offers a small-school environment. We house about 370 students in 9th-12th grade.

 

8. Do I have to wear a uniform?

Yes. Students at Green Tech High Charter School are expected to wear uniforms on a daily basis. Uniforms are provided by Lodges located at 75 N Pearl St, Albany, NY 12207. Families can only purchase uniform after receiving an official acceptance letter.

 

Go To Dress Code Page

 

9. How do I get to school?

Most students at Green Tech High Charter School take a CDTA bus to and from school each day. Bus passes are provided to students that come from surrounding districts that do not provide transportation. Albany City School District provides 3 month bus passes for the year to students that live at minimum of 1.5 miles away from the school. Typically Troy, Lansingburgh, Ravena, and now Schenectady bus students. 

 

Download Transportation Document

 

10. Are there any sports available?

Currently GTH offers football, basketball, track, and baseball.

 

Go To Athletics Page

 

11. Can I get extra help on my academic studies?

Yes. GTH has many preventative programs in place to ensure that our students are able to achieve academic excellence. An instance of this is that all Juniors (11th graders) have a SAT prep built into their school schedule. Teachers are also available after hours to assist any student in need.

 

 

12. How long is the school year?

First year students at Green Tech High Charter School report to school the first week in August for orientation. All students commence full time coursework in mid-August and finish the year at the end of June.

 

 

13. How long is the school day?

Green Tech High Charter School has an extended day for instruction that begins promptly at 8:15 am and concludes at 4:00 pm; Monday –Thursday and Fridays dismissal is at 2:00 pm. The school building is open prior to the start of instruction, at 7:30 am, for students having breakfast at the school. All students must report to their assigned Advisory by 8:20 am and be seated and engaged in the Warm-Up activity in order to avoid being marked tardy. The school building is open for at least one hour after school to facilitate extra-curricular activities participation.